PDA

View Full Version : Vista, 8 months on

Daniel
27th September 2007, 12:26
Just wondering what people here think of Windows Vista? Microsoft have recently announced that there's going to be an Service Pack 1 for Vista early next year which of course is the time when most people, businesses and nerds will buy it because SP1 is when an operating system is seen to be mature.

I've been using Vista since it late 2005 when the "Longhorn" Beta's were out and although is was a bit temperamental and took nearly an hour and a half to install :-/ But it's been out for 8 months now as a retail product and I have yet to actually phyiscally meet someone who's put down hard earned cash for Vista and has not been largely happy with it. The guy next to me at work uses it, AFF uses it, Dave Brockman uses it and Caroline uses it. All seem quite happy with it with a few small quibbles.

My main problems with Vista are thus.

Flash. If you leave a flash page open for a few hours on Vista it will probably crash internet explorer. Is not a possibility. It's almost a given.
Networking. Out of the box if you connect to a network and then leave your PC long enough for it to go to sleep, when it wakes up you won't have an internet connection.
Copying files. Sometimes when you're copying large files around Vista will hang. Being dealt with in SP1.
UAC. It's irritating but can be turned off quickly enough.

But there are so many other advantages

If you've got a gig of memory Vista will use most of it rather than have it sit around idly doing nothing. This makes your programs load up faster because they're already in the system memory.
Drivers. Driver support is very good for Vista. Chances are that if you shove the Vista DVD in that most if not all of your stuff will work if your PC was made in the last few years. Sure if you've got some obscure webcam or peripheral it might not work but it's up to the manufacturers to sort it and not Microsoft.