PDA

View Full Version : A new one on me.

CarlMetro
5th August 2007, 02:46
Most of you know that I am a bit of a mobile DJ. In fact I've been doing functions for more than 18 years. These days I do around 50 shows a year although when I was at my peek I was doing well over 100 shows a year.

In that time I've encountered many different things. I once did a punk wedding at a 5* London hotel where the bride and groom po-goed to Pretty Vacant for their first dance, I've played for football stars, politicians, played alongside a 9 piece mariachi band, have done charity auctions, black tie balls in the middle of a farmers field and countless other strange and wonderful gigs. However all of them pale into mediocrity after tonight's show.

I was booked to do a wedding at a venue where I do a fair bit of work as my agent has the residency there. It's a nice country hotel in between Maidenhead and Slough, a venue where during the 1990's the England football team used to stay.

Dinner was finished and the speeches were in full swing just as I arrived. Speeches over, everyone left the room and went to the bar area whilst I set up. Put on some background music and went off to speak with the bride and groom to introduce myself and check that the first dance I had been told was correct. I found the bride and told her who I was and asked her if the first dance was correct, she said it was but they wouldn't be doing a first dance now as there was a small problem.

It's not the first time someone has said they no longer want to do a first dance and explained this to the bride and said that was fine. She said she still wanted to but the small fact that the husband-to-be hadn't shown up at the church had made it slightly difficult :s hock:

She said that she still wanted the party to go on, as the rest of the day had already done so, and I have to say that it was a fantastic night, everybody really up for the party, even the grooms mum and dad :\