PDA

View Full Version : Why is Sebastian Buemi just a test driver?

ftbmynameis
22nd August 2013, 12:39
hey guys!

im fairly new to f1 and ive been curious about this question for quite some time. He is currently test driving for red bull as well as torro rosso. he did also race a f1 race already. so i dont understand why no one wants him as a driver.

to be honest I don't even know the difference between a driver and a test driver in f1 in terms of skills needed but shouldnt a test driver also be able to drive in f1? It looks to me a little bit like he is too bad for RB/torro rosso but good enough as a test driver which seems to be weird to me.

maybe I missed something and he maybe just wants to be "just" a test driver. I don't wanna talk this down btw.. Id just like to see him in F1!

thanks for any answer!

ps: im quite new to formula 1 and also new to this forum but I have so many questions to ask what I dont understand.. is there maybe someone who can answer to me or should I make a new thread for every single question :o

zako85
22nd August 2013, 12:55
Answer: It's a consolation prize prize for losing a Toro Rosso seat.

The Red Bull juggernaut decided that Buemi was good, but not good enough to have a Red Bull car seat. Recall that the purpose of Toro Rosso is primarily to search to the top talent for the Red Bull (the A team). The fact that an STR driver lost a seat does not mean that it's a bad driver. It just means that they (Helmut Marko) do not think that the driver is good enough to be racing in an RBR seat.

ftbmynameis
22nd August 2013, 13:06
Thanks for your reply. That actually makes sense to me. It is just a little bit weird.. so what they do is they pick drives which they think are talented and put them in an STR seat. And after a season or two they judge if the talent is "good enough" to train in STR for an RBR seat?