PDA

View Full Version : Laptop fan

schmenke
12th May 2013, 17:32
I suspect the fan on my wife's laptop is going kaput. It's on pretty much all the time now but is sounds like it spins slowly, or at least erratically, with a disturbingly grinding noise.
The laptop itself feels abnormally warm to the touch.

Sorry, I'm by no means a hardware techie. Is it reasonably easy to have the fan replaced? Would it be a DIY? Or is the fact that the fan is always on a symptom of a bigger problem?

I've seen advertised "laptop cooling" pads to help dissipate heat. Will one of these do the trick, or is it just a temporary fix? Does anyone have any experience with these?

I await the flood of knowledgable(?) replies... :mark: Thanks.

odykas
12th May 2013, 17:42
What is the maker / model of your laptop?

It's always a good idea to remove the laptop cover so the fan is exposed and they attach the vacuum cleaner hose on it.
Dust and dirt can cause overheating problems.

donKey jote
12th May 2013, 19:52
^what ody says:
make sure the fanny is clean first and then worry about overheating :andrea:

Brown, Jon Brow
12th May 2013, 20:11
I'm a huge fan of laptops

donKey jote
12th May 2013, 20:15
cool !

schmenke
13th May 2013, 14:40
Where's Daniel when you need him? :p :

Ody, the laptop is made by MSI. Certainly not a "brand" name, nor is it a top of the line machine, but it's behaved quite well for the ~3 years that the wife has owned it.
She's just purchased one of those cooling pad thingies and it seems to have made a difference. The fan is engaging noticably less, although still doesn't sound good :erm: .

donKey jote
13th May 2013, 17:11
who need's Daniel ? :p

Send it to us, we'll sort it for ya :andrea:

Donney
13th May 2013, 17:44
:s mash:

airshifter
13th May 2013, 18:20