PDA

View Full Version : Starting Out

Billy
9th October 2012, 11:29
Hello I'm Billy and I'm from the Nottighamshire area. I was just wondering what it takes to get into Motorsport as a driver and which routes to try and take. I am 18, which is quite late to start up.

Because of my age I've read to not bother with Karting, and go straight for car racing. Im not really aiming for formula 1 because I know that is ultra unrealistic. I have no past racing experience but I do drive and own a car.

I've looking into different things but my main interest is Touring Cars, and was wondering how to get onto the motorsports ladder for that sort of thing.

I've looked at getting the National B licence and at racing school. What would your advice be to me?

Also what would the best racing school be for my area and best price? Should I get my National B before anything else?

Thanks for your time.

Edit - I am also in the process to trying to get a mechanics apprenticeship, which should help out in the future.

Mark
9th October 2012, 12:00
It sounds like you have your head screwed on and are approaching things from a sensible direction. Your main problem is that very very few people make any money from being a racing driver. The vast majority fund it from their or their families business interests.

Billy
9th October 2012, 12:11
Thanks for your reply. I am planning on doing it as a 'hobby' along side a job that funds it, as I am aware that even some BTCC drivers make no money from it.

I will only have a small budget to start with, so nothing special, maybe club racing or something? But at the moment I want to focus on learning and gaining valuable experience.

MrJan
9th October 2012, 12:36