PDA

View Full Version : Building a PC

Daniel
10th January 2011, 22:24
I'm building a new PC tomorrow night and was wondering if anyone on here would be interested in a picture guide of how to build a PC as it really is simple if you know what to do and you can save a lot of money. If someone's interested I'll see if I can rope Caroline in to taking photos, if not then screw all of you :p

CaptainRaiden
11th January 2011, 07:22
*Raises hand* That would be very helpful Daniel, if it's not too much trouble. I can add cards on the motherboard, connect the USB ports etc. but it's the initial setup, power connections from the PSU to the motherboard, placing the processor chip etc. that I'm a noob at. Also, installing the heat sink, because I plan to run two Nvidia cards in SLI configuration in the future and possibly an i7 extreme processor. Things are bound to get hot in there. :D

I'm sure these are easy enough, because they are built to be easily installed, but a guide is always welcome, especially as I plan to assemble my next super PC myself. ;)

Daniel
11th January 2011, 23:37
Well she's purring along nicely :) Took me about 2 hours or so. Hopefully I'll get to set up the windows home server tomorrow and do a writeup and upload some pictures.

billiaml
12th January 2011, 15:49
Well she's purring along nicely :) Took me about 2 hours or so. Hopefully I'll get to set up the windows home server tomorrow and do a writeup and upload some pictures.

Good job :up:

Daniel
13th January 2011, 00:35
Another day gone by and I haven't posted pics :p

Here are some of the bits that went into making the PC

http://oi52.tinypic.com/20idpmv.jpg