PDA

View Full Version : How did you end up in your job?

Brown, Jon Brow
16th August 2010, 22:58
Are you in a job/career that you aimed to be in or have you ended up there completely unintentionally?

Is anyone in an position/industry that is completly different to the one that they studied/trained for?

My current job in food retail was my part-time job when I was a student. Now it's my full time job as a search for a career path related to my marketing degree.

tannat
17th August 2010, 01:47
My degree is in psychopharmacology, but I am currently in virology.

In between the two are three stopgaps, I always pick up certain skills which make me marketable for the next job, and so on and so forth.

I'm far from 100% happy, but we have food, insurance and a home. The end justifies the means..

gloomyDAY
17th August 2010, 02:53
Just got fired today.

Alexamateo
17th August 2010, 03:04
I was a farm kid and truthfully, that's all I ever wanted to do, but my Dad told me that while he wouldn't tell me what I should do with my life, he asked me to not follow him into farming. I liked the outdoors, so I started by majoring in forestry, but changed after I ended up working for a landscape contractor in the summer. I doubled majored in Landscape Architecture and Landscape Contracting.

There was a brief interlude where I went to North Carolina and tried to break into racing, but truthfully it never amounted to much. I did work as an intern in PR for Charlotte Motor Speedway when Eddie Gossage and Susan Russo were there, so I'm glad I got that little bit of experience.

After that I worked for a landscape contractor doing designs, estimates, bids, construction supervision. Along the way, I became really good friends with a guy (and his wife) who worked for me from Mexico. I learned to speak Spanish. When they returned to Mexico, they invited me to come visit. I did and ended up meeting his sister who a year and a half later became my wife.