PDA

View Full Version : So what do you think of Petrov now?

keysersoze
3rd June 2010, 16:03
Since Fisi left, I've adopted Vitaly as a driver I would cheer for and, with all the talk about the millions his dad gave to the team, was frankly worried that Robert would make VP look worse than he is. Well, Kubica has a big points advantage, but Petrov is showing that he's got potential.

Sure, he's made a splash at earlier races, first getting into a great dice with Lewis at Bahrain (?), then passing Schumacher and Webber in route to a 7th place finish a couple of races later, but in Turkey he made his biggest impression IMO. Although Kubica beat him by a half-second in qualifying, they were pretty much evenly matched until that point, and in the race Vitaly was no more than three seconds from Robert throughout.

Just interested in what you forum members think of him now that we are at the 1/3 point in the season.

I am evil Homer
3rd June 2010, 16:16
Got potential that much is certain and kept Kubica honest and I had similar worries that he could be another Grosjean! Certainly much better :)

However so far he's been under the radar - the real tests will come if Robert starts to beat him easily or when things go wrong, how he reacts that will show his character and ability.

I think he'll take it in his stride but sometimes you can never tell, sometimes it breaks talented drivers while others excel.

race_director
3rd June 2010, 16:41
He is a KICK ASS DRIVER :)

ArrowsFA1
3rd June 2010, 16:45
I've been impressed with his performances recently, but lets see how he shapes up over a whole season.

fandango
3rd June 2010, 18:13
He's doing great. We'll soon have a Russian GP if he keeps this up. Which makes me wonder why Bernie doesn't concentrate more on getting a top US driver into F1....

UltimateDanGTR
3rd June 2010, 18:56