PDA

View Full Version : Liability for Tobacco (& other)advertizing

wmcot
2nd March 2007, 04:13
I hate to bring up tobacco adverts again, but seeing Ferraris in Bahrain with Marlboro blurred out made me think. If a team is sponsored by a pharmaceutical product (like NiQuitin, and possibly others in the future), and that drug is later shown to have adverse effects (birth defects, cancer, etc.) will the team share in any responsibility for advertising the product?

Don't get me wrong, I'm not a pro-tobacco advocate, but will the same problems occur if another sponsor's product has severe effects? Could a family member of someone who was killed by a drunk driver who had been drinking Johnnie Walker or Finlandia sue the F1 team for promoting drinking and driving?

Just something to think about...do we have anyone with a legal background who could shed some light on this?

janneppi
2nd March 2007, 08:15
I doubt such a lawsuit would work. If it did, it would have been done decades ago against newspapers or tv networks and cars would now have disclaimers on them.

SGWilko
2nd March 2007, 11:38
Why not continue to allow fag branding, but ensure the 'Smoking Kills' wording is bigger than the logo.

Simple.

Somebody
2nd March 2007, 14:11
Why not continue to allow fag branding, but ensure the 'Smoking Kills' wording is bigger than the logo.

Simple.

And how many languages would that be in?

Rippers
2nd March 2007, 14:21

lol

SGWilko
2nd March 2007, 16:40

Well, when running in spain, in spanish, France, french, England...........

Somebody
2nd March 2007, 17:13
Well, when running in spain, in spanish, France, french, England...........
In other words, negating the message for all non-spanish speakers when running in Spain, all non-french speakers when running in France, etc, when the majority of F1 viewers don't speak any specific language you care to name. While the invariant logo/name remains intact.

SGWilko
2nd March 2007, 17:32