PDA

View Full Version : gordon kirby the way it is

spiritone
1st January 2010, 18:45
A very good article by one of the old timers in ow. I'm not good at the link thing but if you go to gordon kirby.com the article is on the righthand side. the title is the way it is 12,21,09. Makes some interesting points.

Maybe some computor savey member can post the link.

Helicon_One
2nd January 2010, 01:44
link (http://gordonkirby.com/categories/columns/theway/2009/the_way_it_is_no215.html)

champcarray
2nd January 2010, 15:27
A key quote from Tony Cicale that sums up how far the series now has to climb: "George's failures were brought into sharp focus in 2009 as only five Americans raced Indy cars on a regular basis this past year--Graham Rahal, Danica Patrick, Marco Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Ed Carpenter. And for the first time in the sport's hundred-year history not a single American driver won an Indy car race! "

Scotty G.
2nd January 2010, 15:32
And for the first time in the sport's hundred-year history not a single American driver won an Indy car race! "

Ole' Gordo musta missed (along with every other racing fan in America) the last year of Champ Car, where no Americans won a race either.

Or does Gordo only count those CART/Champ Car records when its convenient for his arguments?

chuck34
2nd January 2010, 19:13
How many more articles about how great CART was do we need? Why don't we start posting stuff about how great Can-Am was, or F1 from the 60's, or what about the IRL in about 98-0W? Let's all just b!tch and moan all the time about how great things used to be, build those days up so much that NOTHING will ever live up to that idealized notion of "greatness". I'm sorry but I am sick and tired of all the looking back and whishing for that. Guess what, THAT'S THE PAST, IT'S NOT COMMING BACK EVER! We live in a different time with different circumstances. Even if EVERYTHING was to be put back in place from CART it wouldn't be the same, so get over it.

Blancvino