PDA

View Full Version : Is Wilson's height a problem?

Mad_Hatter
1st April 2008, 23:54
I came across this picture. Clearly Justin Wilson's helmet is obstructing the airbox a bit. Is this going to be a problem in getting performance out of his engine?

http://www.sutton-images.com/previews%5Cdne0828ma117.jpg

Hoop? Anyone else?

DBell
2nd April 2008, 02:11
It was a problem for him in F1 and I'll bet it'll be an issue for him in any N/A open wheel car. Unless a series sets design parameters of the chassis to include taller people.

seppefan
2nd April 2008, 13:14
The Panoz was a wider cockpit and he was comfortable. The Indycar is a tight fit for him.

mikiec
2nd April 2008, 15:24
The Panoz DP-01 was specifically designed with his height in mind.

I can't see that it would 'block' the air intake as there's quite a gap between the back of the helmet and the intake hole. I'm no expert on aerodynamics/air-fluidity, but I would think that the air will probably flow over/around the helmet, but it might cause some turbulence before the intake, particularly, there might be a bigger low-pressure area or vortex behind the helmet than with other drivers. Whether that would reduce the air-pressure in the intake, I don't know.

I would have thought that the more important factor would be safety given that his head is less protected the higher it is out of the cockpit.

garyshell
2nd April 2008, 16:17
The Panoz DP-01 was specifically designed with his height in mind.

I can't see that it would 'block' the air intake as there's quite a gap between the back of the helmet and the intake hole. I'm no expert on aerodynamics/air-fluidity, but I would think that the air will probably flow over/around the helmet, but it might cause some turbulence before the intake, particularly, there might be a bigger low-pressure area or vortex behind the helmet than with other drivers. Whether that would reduce the air-pressure in the intake, I don't know.